Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Former Eagles Get First Goals of NHL Season

A pair of former Boston College linemates celebrated their first goals of the 2014-15 NHL campaign on Sunday.

2014 Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner Johnny Gaudreau of the Calgary Flames scored on a wraparound against Winnipeg and also added an assist in a 4-1 win at the MTS Center in Manitoba. He recorded his first career NHL goal in last season's finale against Vancouver just after turning pro.

New York Rangers rookie forward Kevin Hayes followed up his own rebound and wristed it home in a 4-0 victory over visiting San Jose at Madison Square Garden. It was the first goal of his pro career and came in his fourth outing with the Rangers, with whom signed as a free agent in the offseason

Gaudreau left BC a year early after leading all NCAA Division I players in scoring last season as a junior, tallying 36 goals and 44 assists for 80 points in 40 games. Hayes posted 27-3865 points in 40 outings as the duo paired with right wing Bill Arnold to help the Eagles to a Hockey East regular-season title, an NCAA Northeast Regional crown, and a berth in the NCAA Frozen Four in Philadelphia. All three were also members of BC's 2012 national championship team.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Gophers, Badgers Top Respective Division I Polls

Minnesota is the top-ranked men's team in NCAA Division I ice hockey, while Wisconsin is No. 1 in the women's Division I ranks, according to the most recent USCHO.com polls released on Oct. 13.

Minnesota began its 2014-15 campaign by winning the Icebreaker at Compton Family Ice Arena in South Bend, Ind. over the weekend. The Golden Gophers edged former WCHA rival Minnesota-Duluth by a 4-3 count on Friday, before blanking ECAC opponent Rensselaer by a 3-0 score on Sunday. Kyle Rau led the Gophers with a goal and three assists over the two games, while Hudson Fasching and Seth Ambroz contributed game-winning goals, and Adam Wilcox stopped 46 of 49 opposing shots.

Wisconsin swept visiting Ohio State by 6-0 and 3-0 scores in a WCHA series last weekend in Madison, Wisc. Brittany Ammerman scored two goals in each game for the Badgers, while Ann-Renée Desbiens stopped all 46 shots that came her way at La Bahn Arena.

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

10 Forwards to Watch for 2014-15

Last week USCHO published my outlook on 10 forwards to watch this season in men's NCAA Division I hockey. From 43-point freshman Sam Anas (Quinnipiac) to 31-goal scorer Cody Wydo, the full list can be found here.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

2013-14 Conference Winners Predicted

The 2013-14 preseason polls for the NCAA Division I men’s hockey conferences have all been released. Following are the top picks in each of the six leagues:

Colgate (ECAC)

Providence (Hockey East) 
Mercyhurst (Atlantic Hockey)
Minnesota (Big Ten)
North Dakota (NCHC)
Minnesota State (WCHA)

All those schools made last year's NCAA tournament except Mercyhurst. Colgate, North Dakota and Minnesota State also all finished as regular-season runner-up in their respective leagues.

Minnesota won the inaugural Big Ten regular season crown last season, and then edged North Dakota in a national semifinal before falling to Union in the national title game in Philadelphia.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Devils Edge Rangers, 5-4, Behind Two NCAA Netminders

Keith Kincaid (Union) and Scott Clemmensen (Boston College) teamed up to record a combined 20 saves as the New Jersey Devils defeated the New York Rangers, 5-4, in the 2014 NHL preseason opener for both teams at Madison Square Garden on Monday night.

Kinkaid picked up the win in relief, making 12 saves on 14 shots, after starter Clemmensen recorded eight stops on 10 attempts. Michael Ryder scored twice and Adam Henrique notched the game-winning goal with 51.7 seconds remaining in regulation for New Jersey, which has missed the Stanley Cup Playoffs the last two seasons.

Cam Talbot (Alabama-Huntsville) took the loss in relief with 16 saves on 19 shots for New York, and also picked up an assist. The Rangers, who won the Eastern Conference last season, got goals from Carl Hagelin (Michigan), Ryan Malone (St. Cloud) and Chris Kreider (Boston College).

Friday, September 12, 2014

New Boston College Uniforms for 2014-15

Boston College recently unveiled new men's hockey uniforms for the 2014-15 NCAA campaign, as shown on Twitter. The uniforms are still manufactured by UnderArmour, which took over BC's athletic apparel in 2010.

The new home white version (shown at right) modeled by sophomore forward Ryan Fitzgerald features maroon and gold stripes that now go all the way around the waist. There's also the return of the iconic interlocking BC Eagle logo on the shoulders.

The vertical stripes on the sleeves have been replaced by horizontal maroon and gold stripes at the elbow, with the stripes on both the arm and the waist being separated by the stained glass pattern introduced four years ago. The front of the new jersey also features a traditional lace-up neck, while the Hockey East patch remains in its customary spot below the right shoulder.

BC opens its new season on Oct. 4 with an exhibition game against visiting New Brunswick at Kelley Rink, before delving into the NCAA waters at Hockey East rival UMass Lowell six days later. The home opener will be on Oct. 24 against Colorado College.

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Remembering Mark Bavis: Sept. 11, 2001

A story I've presented here before - hard to believe it's been 13 years now. Rest in peace, Mark.