Monday, February 6, 2012

BC, BU to Face Off for All the Beans in 2012

Once again it'll be Boston College and Boston University for all the beans.

The Eagles and Terriers advanced to next Monday's 60th Beanpot tournament championship game with wins today, as BC bested Northeastern, 7-1, in the nightcap after BU edged Harvard, 3-1, in the early game at TD Garden. Johnny Gaudreau and Stephen Whitney had two goals apiece for BC, while Wade Megan scored twice for BU.

It will mark the 19th straight year that either BC or BU will hoist the trophy when all is said and done, with Northeastern last winning in 1998 and Harvard last finishing first in 1993. BU has more Beanpots than anyone else, with 29 titles to date, although BC is the two-time defending champion.

No comments:

Post a Comment