Monday, February 10, 2014

Boston College Wins Fifth Straight Beanpot Title

Johnny Gaudreau’s scoring string is intact, and so is Boston College men’s hockey’s Beanpot Tournament winning streak after No. 1 BC upended No. 12 Northeastern by a 4-1 count on Monday night at TD Garden. The Eagles claimed their fifth consecutive trophy, continuing their longest-ever streak in Beanpot play, while the Huskies’ heartbreak continued for a 26th straight February.
This one may have been just as excruciating for Northeastern as some of its other Beanpot losses in recent years, including a 7-6 overtime loss to BC in 2011. After BC’s Kevin Hayes and NU’s John Stevens traded goals over the first 40 minutes on Monday, the Eagles put the contest—and the title—away in the third stanza.
BC captain Patrick Brown notched what turned out to be the game-winner with 5:30 remaining in regulation, before Gaudreau, who also posted an assist on the evening to increase his point streak to 24 straight games, put the puck into an empty NU net with 1:16 left for his 25th tally of the campaign. Brown then added insult to injury with his second goal of the night, and ninth of the season, with 50 seconds remaining.
Clay Witt recorded 36 saves for the Huskies (16-10-3), who last celebrated on Causeway Street in 1988, while Thatcher Demko made 29 stops for the Eagles (22-4-3), who wore the gold throwback uniforms they first donned at Frozen Fenway last month in a 4-3 victory over Notre Dame.
BC has now claimed 19 Beanpot crowns in all, and five in a row beginning in 2010.  Boston University, which still holds the overall tournament lead with 29 titles, fell to Harvard, 6-2, in Monday’s consolation contest.

No comments:

Post a Comment