Monday, June 15, 2015

Americans Claim First ECHL Crown

The Allen Americans earned their first ever Kelly Cup as ECHL champions with a 6-1 victory over the visiting South Carolina Stingrays on Sunday afternoon in Texas. Allen defeated South Carolina in seven games.

Greger Hanson (Northern Michigan) was named ECHL playoff MVP with 12 goals and 29 points in 25 outings, according to, while goaltender Riley Gill (Western Michigan) backstopped the Americans' title run. Gill went 13-7 in this year's playoffs, and tied a league record with his eighth career win in the ECHL final following yesterday's 27-save effort.

South Carolina's Wayne Simpson (Union) set an ECHL record with 38 points in 27 postseason contests this spring, including 25 assists.

Chad Costello (Northeastern), the ECHL's leading scorer during the regular season with 125 points, tallied two goals and set up another in the decisive game for Allen, which moved to the ECHL after its former home, the Central Hockey League, folded in October. The Americans, who began play in 2009, have now won three consecutive championships in three straight seasons, having claimed the last two Miron President's Cup titles before the CHL ceased operations.

Other NCAA players on this season's Allen title team included Justin Baker (St. Lawrence), Nolan Descoteaux (RIT), Kyle Follmer (Northern Michigan), Aaron Gens (Alaska Fairbanks), Trevor Ludwig (Providence), Tyler Ludwig (Western Michigan), Rylan Schwartz (Colorado College) and Gary Steffes (Miami).

No comments:

Post a Comment