Saturday, April 2, 2016

Hobey Hat Trick Announced

The 2016 Hobey Hat Trick has been announced. The three finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, presented annually since 1981 to the top player in NCAA Division I men’s college ice hockey, are as follows:

Kyle Connor, Freshman, Forward, University of Michigan. The rookie from Shelby Township, Mich. led the nation in scoring this season with 35 goals and 36 assists for 71 points in 38 games, following the Wolverines’ elimination from the NCAA Tournament by North Dakota on March 26. The nation’s leading goal-scorer, Connor potted 10 power-play goals and seven game-winners in leading Michigan to both the Great Lakes Invitational and Big Ten Tournament titles.

Thatcher Demko, Junior, Goaltender, Boston College. A 6-foot-4 netminder from San Diego, Demko has set new career highs this season in fashioning a 27-7-4 record with a 1.85 goal-against average and .936 save percentage in 38 games. He leads all Division I goaltenders with 10 shutouts, and has also played a career-high 2,303 minutes this year in leading the Eagles to their second NCAA Frozen Four in three years, along with the Hockey East regular-season and Beanpot Tournament titles. For his NCAA career, he has gone 62-25-10 in 97 appearances.

Jimmy Vesey, Senior, Forward, Harvard University. The North Reading, Mass. native's totals were down from last year, when he paced the nation with 32 goals, but he still managed to put up 24-22—46 points in 33 games this time out as the Crimson advanced to both the ECAC Championship game and the NCAA Tournament for the second straight season. He posted six power-play goals and five game-winners in 2015-16, was sixth in Division I in total goals, and registered 80-66—146 points in 128 outings over his now-completed college career.

The Hobey Baker Award will be presented on April 8 in Tampa during the Frozen Four. Last year’s winner was Jack Eichel of Boston University, now a member of the NHL’s Buffalo Sabres.

No comments:

Post a Comment