Monday, May 16, 2016

Fairbanks Wins NAHL Title

Brown University commit Gavin Nieto made 31 saves for the shutout as the Fairbanks Ice Dogs won their third Robertson Cup as champions of the North American Hockey League. The Ice Dogs bested the Wichita Falls Wildcats, 2-0, in Edina, Minn. yesterday to win their second Cup in three seasons.

Reggie Lutz tallied the game-winning goal on Sunday, and was named the tournament MVP after scoring five of Fairbanks' seven total goals in three games, including a two-step semifinal sweep of the Aston (Pa.) Rebels. The Ice Dogs, who also finished as this year's NAHL regular-season champion with a 48-9-3 record (101 points), bested the Coulee Region Chill in four games and the Minnesota Wilderness in five outings en route to the semifinals.

Justin Kapelmaster, who is committed to Ferris State, stopped 29 shots for the Wildcats, who were seeking their first NAHL crown, in the championship contest. Fairbanks won its inaugural NAHL title in 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment