Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Harvard Wins First Beanpot Since 1993

Georgia native Nathan Krusko scored twice and Sean Malone, Clay Anderson and Tyler Moy set up two goals apiece as third-ranked Harvard University its won first Beanpot Tournament since 1993 with a 6-3 triumph over No. 4 Boston University on Monday night at TD Garden.

Merrick Madsen made 14 saves for the Crimson, which outshot the Terriers, 46-17, while scoring twice on the power play. Harvard has now won the Beanpot 11 times, while BU was denied its record 31st title. No. 11 Boston College is in second place overall, with 20 Beanpot titles to its credit.

BC finished in fourth place in Boston's premiere hockey tournament for the first time in 24 years this time out. Four-time winner Northeastern University, which last won the Beanpot in 1988, scored two goals in the final minute of regulation on Monday for a 4-2 victory in the consolation game.

No comments:

Post a Comment