Monday, March 20, 2017

2017 NCAA Hockey Tournament Field Set

The 2017 NCAA Tournament field is set for Men's Division I Ice Hockey. The full bracket, announced on Sunday, can be found here.

The regional seeds are as follows:

Midwest (Cincinnati)
1. Denver
2. Union
3. Penn State *
4. Michigan Tech

Northeast (Manchester, NH)
1. Minnesota
2. UMass Lowell *
3. Cornell
4. Notre Dame

East (Providence)
1. Harvard *
2. Western Michigan
3. Air Force *
4. Providence

West (Fargo, ND)
1. Minnesota-Duluth *
2. Boston University
3. North Dakota
4. Ohio State

* denotes conference champions, who earned automatic NCAA Tournament bids

Schools not qualifying this year that advanced to the 2016 NCAA Tournament include Boston College, Ferris State, Michigan, Northeastern, Quinnipiac, RIT, St. Cloud State and Yale.

Denver is the top seed overall in this year's tournament, while Penn State is appearing in its first-ever NCAA Tournament. North Dakota is the defending national champion, having won its eighth NCAA title overall last year.

The East and West regionals will be held on Friday and Saturday, with the Midwest and Northeast regionals to be contested on Saturday and Sunday. The four regional champions will advance to the NCAA Frozen Four in Chicago on April 6.

No comments:

Post a Comment