Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Minnesota, Plattsburgh State Win Women's NCAA Hockey Titles

Hannah Brandt scored the game-winning goal, Rachael Bona had a goal and an assist, and Amanda Leveille made 19 saves and added an assist as the University of Minnesota won its third NCAA Division I women's hockey national title in four years with a 4-1 victory over Harvard on Sunday at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis.

The No. 2 Golden Gophers, who dispatched RIT and Wisconsin earlier in the NCAA Tournament, now have five national titles to their credit, including back-to-back crowns in 2004 and 2005. No. 4 Harvard was seeking to become the second Eastern school to win an NCAA Division I women's hockey national championship after Clarkson edged the Gophers last year in Hamden, Conn.

Top-ranked Plattsburgh State won its second straight NCAA Division III women's hockey national championship with a 3-2 victory over No. 2 Elmira on Saturday at Stafford Ice Arena in Plattsburgh, N.Y. The top-ranked Cardinals, who also won in 2007 and 2008, got a goal and an assist from Giovanna Senese, plus the game-winner from Kayla Meneghin and 22 saves from Camille Leonard.

No comments:

Post a Comment