Wednesday, March 14, 2012

And Then There Were Four

The NCAA Division I women's hockey season will come to a close this weekend at Amsoil Arena in Duluth, Minn. with the 2012 Frozen Four.

Defending national champion Wisconsin (32-4-2 overall) will take on Boston College (24-9-3) in the first semifinal on Friday in a rematch of a game from last season, while the other contest will pit Cornell (30-4-0) against Minnesota (32-5-2). The winners will meet on Saturday afternoon. Of the foursome, only Minnesota won its conference tournament this year, while the other three schools all played in last year’s Frozen Four in Erie, Pa.

All four advanced by winning home games last weekend in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. Wisconsin ousted Merychurst, while BC rebounded to upend St. Lawrence. Cornell outlasted Boston University in three overtimes, while Minnesota topped newcomer North Dakota.

Wisconsin will be seeking its second straight national title and fifth overall, while Minnesota claimed back-to-back crowns in 2004 and 2005. BC and Cornell will both be looking to win their first NCAA championship.

No comments:

Post a Comment