Tuesday, March 19, 2013

BC's Whitney Wins Walter Brown Award

Boston College senior forward and assistant captain Steven Whitney is the 61st recipient of the Walter Brown Award, annually bestowed upon the top American-born player in New England college hockey.

A member of BC’s 2010 and 2012 NCAA championship teams ,and a four-time winner of the Beanpot Tournament, Whitney leads BC so far this season with 25 goals, and is second on the team scoring scroll with 43 points through 36 games. A 5’7”, 167-pound native of Reading, Mass. and a graduate of Lawrence Academy, the right-shooting Whitney has tallied 54-72—126 points in 158 career contests with the Eagles, including two goals in the 2012 NCAA Championship game in a 4-1 win over Ferris State.

Whitney was preceded at BC by his older brother and former teammate, Joe, a member of BC’s 2008 and 2010 national title teams, and a captain of the 2010-11 Eagles.

Steven Whitney had a goal and an assist on Saturday night in a 4-1 win over Vermont to complete a two-step sweep in the Hockey East quarterfinals, which catapulted BC into the league semifinals on Friday night at TD Garden against rival Boston University. BC currently stands at 22-10-4 overall, and is ranked fourth in NCAA Division I by USCHO.com.

Whitney is the Eagles’ second Walter Brown Award winner in three years, following former goaltender John Muse in 2011, and the 23rd Eagle overall. Other BC recipients of the honor include: Chris Collins (2006), Brian Gionta (2001), Mike Mottau (1999, 2000), David Emma (1991), Greg Brown (1990), Brian Leetch (1987), Scott Harlow (1986), Mark Switaj (1981), Bill Army (1980), Joe Mullen (1978), Richie Smith (1976), Tom Mellor (1973), Paul Hurley (1969), Tim Sheehy (1968, 1970), Jerry York (1967), John Cunniff (1966), Bill Hogan (1963), Tom Martin (1961) and Bob Babine (1954).

No comments:

Post a Comment