Sunday, March 17, 2013

Blugolds Win NCAA Division III Men's Title

Wisconsin-Eau Claire is the new NCAA Division III men’s ice hockey champion.

The Blugolds defeated Oswego State, 5-3, on Saturday night at Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, N.Y. to win their first national title, in their final campaign in the Northern Collegiate Hockey Association. Next year they will be moving with the other Wisconsin schools to the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Oswego, which took a 2-0 lead on first-period goals just 33 seconds apart, came up one game short for a second straight season, after falling to St. Norbert in last year’s national title contest in Lake Placid.

Wisconsin-Eau Claire (24-5-2) got goals from five different players, including the game-winner from Devin Mantha just over seven minutes into the third period. Forwards Jordan Singer and Andrew Wilcox each scored a goal and set up another, while defensemen Drew Darwitz and David Donnellan had two assists apiece, and Kurt Weston sealed the game and the title with an empty-net goal with 59 seconds left in the third period. The Blugolds also got 27 saves from goaltender Brandon Stephenson.

Oswego (25-5) defenseman Bobby Gertsakis scored two of the Lakers' three goals, including one that brought them within a goal with 10 minutes remaining in regulation, while Chris Muise had a goal and an assist. Oswego got one assist from its high-scoring tandem of Luke Moodie and Paul Rodrigues, and Andrew Hare made 20 saves.

No comments:

Post a Comment